Schlouppe Bistrot Nakamichi

Hey hey peeps!

A glimpse out of hibernating I thought I’d put my pictures to good use, one of the reasons I think about taking pictures besides the main dish, but I always forget to snap pictures of the place itself though, I’ll try and remember (and get out of my shy bubble of taking pictures).

Anyways! I’m not the greatest at food critic-ing because I love strong flavours, spices, and SALT, and I hardly find a place dissatisfying (unless it’s bad service or overpriced food lol).

There’s this new ramen place that opened up right next to Concordia University’s Hall building on Mackay/Maisonneuve- it’s kind of hidden up the street and the words were hard to read… so much that my friend and I stood RIGHT outside clueless as to where it is and then it hit us as we saw people coming out (or going in I can’t remember).

It would have been nicer if I snapped a picture of the menu too.
But in any case, there are combos for lunch (which I got right here) and there’s 3 types of soup to choose from (really easy right?). Each soup dish was $12.50.

My combo came with this salad, the soup, and the ice cream.

The salad was really nice and fresh (and pretty to the eye) with walnuts, mushrooms, red bell peppers, and a light vinaigrette that coated all the leaves.

You can’t see it here but it’s a pretty big bowl of salad! I only ate half of it- and with chopsticks. I have never eaten a salad with chopsticks LOL

img_3057-1Verdict: Very refreshing!

And then our ramen arrived!! Isn’t it a beauty? I absolutely adored all the garnishes and colors in that bowl.

We both chose the “Daku” which seemed to be a favourite in many of the reviews I read before going. The 2nd soup on the menu is said to be an explosion of awesome chicken noodle soup in your mouth- I’ll try it next time around! The 3rd and last soup was vegetarian with a vegetarian broth?

Well this was a nice broth, I loved the slices of pork and how it was lean (not one bit of fat!) I like a bit of fat too but I’m not complaining!
Note: Misoya now seems to serve their slices of pork “all-fat”, it’s kinda gross.  I still love the ramen at Misoya more though haha. 

I did wish that my egg was marinated in all the flavours before they put it on the soup, because it seems that they just boiled it and put it there (which they clearly did). So I just let it soak in the soup and ate it at the end (so good! I love eggs).
The noodles aren’t as tender as what I’m used to but they were still yummy. I loved the different chopsticks, they had designs at the bottom which made it easier to pick up what I was eating 🙂
Oh also, they don’t give you any condiments to add to your soup since it’s all there. I didn’t mind at all but maybe other people would like to choose what they’re putting inside and how much…I also didn’t like how they didn’t specify in the menu what was “in” the soup, where the name comes from, and such. It was literally 3 words that if I didn’t read reviews about it earlier I wouldn’t have known what to choose for myself, and have a hard time visualizing.

Verdict: Beautiful soup! I would have liked a bit more salt but maybe it’s supposed to be like that.

Anddddd the ice cream!
Ok. I love-love-LOVE green tea ice cream so I was really waiting for this!
I was disappointed though because it looks pretty, but as I begin eating it it was VERY crumbly and DRY. Have you ever heard of dry ice cream? Me neither. It was hard to taste the matcha when I feel like I was eating malleable ice. Maybe I came when they were giving out old ice cream… I dunno.

Verdict: Don’t get it. It wasn’t worth it.

In the end, I loved my soup. The combo was ok, if the ice cream was fresh, it was $15 for all 3 but next time I’ll just get the soup. I think the combo is only available at lunchtimes too.

They also accept card and it’s not cash only

Did I mention there’s a 10% discount for students? That’s definitely a plus 😉

Schlouppe Bistrot Nakamichi
2159 rue Mackay
Montreal, QC
H3G 2J2
438-383-7650

Until next time!

S-

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Schlouppe Bistrot Nakamichi

  1. Kat March 15, 2016 at 6:50 pm Reply

    I wanted to try there as one of my friend recommended it. Seeing the amount of green onion they put in, I will remind myself to tell them not to put in any -_-

    Like

    • Sandra March 16, 2016 at 4:26 am Reply

      Lol! That’s hilarious cuz the first thing I thought when the waitress put it down was “yesssss! lots of green onions!” xD No joke….I usually think they put too little at other places haha

      Like

  2. Kat April 5, 2016 at 6:43 pm Reply

    Ok so I went there twice already because I don’t trust my taste bud when I’m hungry. The first time, I ordered the “New classic” because I don’t have the Daku anymore, my husband ordered the other one that sound more expensive. Mine was creamy and the chicken was soo tender! My husband’s broth was disappointing though, taste more like soya dilute in water. The salad was very good too and the ice cream was fresh of the day. Overall it wasn’t so bad. They have consistency in their food which is good, because the second time I went it was as good as the 1st. Also their customer service is impeccable. I wouldn’t say that it was the best ramen in town, but definitely a place to return for a quick meal and good atmosphere.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

